Is Your SmartPhone the Reason for Mass-Shootings? – An Artists Journey To Life: Day 759

money-720x340

Today I went in to get a new phone. I was in the store inquiring a week before and was told that the new phones I was looking for would be in next week so I returned today, a week later to do the transaction.

When I got into the store I was greeted and we began the transaction. But, unexpectedly I found out that I did not get all the details in my first meeting and it turns out that my initial understanding that my phone would be free was ‘incorrect’ and that in fact there would be a 100$ charge unless I wanted to upgrade my phone plan to a more expensive plan.

To me, the different dimensions of this interaction is what one would consider NORMAL, however I can’t help but notice this accepted normalcy within our system is in fact part of the dysfucntions that is leading to the violence, mass-shootings, suicide bombings, protests, that is taking place all over the world.

Everyday president Obama is addressing the nation about yet another police shooting or terrorist attack and from what I can see, nobody has any answers. Obama really should be a qualified psychologist because each day he stands behind his podium, he is expected to have an explanation of what is happening in your world with what is now, daily violence plastered across our media platforms.

So how is my interaction at the phone store linked to this ongoing violence and continual decline of our world and world system, and so also the growing unrest and dissatisfaction with how things work.

I looked at it this way.

In Canada, we have 3 major players in the telecommunications industry. Telus, Bell, and Rogers, and then there is a few smaller companies but this triad of larger companies basically makes sure no others can compete.

So as a consumer I really don’t have a choice when it comes to what I am going to end up paying for what should in fact be a FREE BASIC RIGHT – COMMUNICATION!

So already as I am walking into this store, I have no power. I basically will have to pay what ever offers they have available. And so as an individual interacting with the system there is a degree of powerlessness.

And so I walk into the store and find out basically what I expected. That my “FREE” upgrade is actually going to cost me money! And also, once you get down the fine print, there is even more money that must be paid on top of that.

So I thought this was a good example to illustrate the kind of relationship that leads to violence, unrest, frustration, and protest. The kind of relationship that is in fact existing between the System and the majority of People in the world.

Imagine the system was a person and you had a relationship with them. And they never really listened to you, and would just strong arm you into what ever it was that they wanted to do. That to me is not a relationship that engenders mutual respect.

Now if you look at this specific experience created through how our current system is functioning at the moment, you are able to see how over time, this ends up creating disgruntled individuals who are frustrated, and angry because they feel like they have no power, or say of how things are running, and that from their position, they are not treated with respect within and by the system but are actually coerced, enforced and bullied to basically give into how the system exists and either pay or get out.

Then you have your cases where many can’t afford to pay and so they are pushed to fringes of the world, with no access to the resources that others have access to.

From this perspective I can see how this ends up in people acting out against the system or those things that represent the system leading to mass violence, shootings, protests ect. Because these people don’t have anything to lose, they are the have nots, yet from a humanity perspective They are LIFE, Equally Valuable, Equally Capable if given the same opportunity, and yet they are cast aside and marginalized and end up in the fringes often times because they were born into their position in the world.

The fundamental way our system functions must change at a core level so it eventually will be unrecognizable. So that when we as individuals engage with the world, we encounter a relationship of mutual respect, equality, support, and all those things that are the foundation of any solid peer to peer relationship.

We have a lot of work to do. Both on ourselves. Our internal realities, with regards to our own SELF-RELATIONSHIP we have with ourselves,  and with the external systems of this world, so that we transform both of these to internal and external relationships into ones of respect, kindness, forgiveness, empowerment, and principles that support ourselves to live and express to our utmost potential as Life.

Leave a Reply

