Changing Ones Experiences in Real Time – An Artists Journey To Life: Day 733

Untitled 1

Today while I was at work I decided to apply a technique that was explained in one of the latest interviews on EQAFE.

Part of my Job at the moment is I spend normally 1 day a week working the sales floor at the Art Gallery where I sell my sculptures. This has been great because it gives me an opportunity to talk with clients, potential clients, and just art admirers about the work I do and about their own collections. This has really supported me in gaining more insight into why and how people buy art which is important for me seeing as how I am working as a professional artist.

Now during this time I have tested out various ways to interact with those who walk into the gallery and have looked at how best to do this.

The context within which I am standing is quite specific where I am essentially standing as a Sales Professional in a setting where I am representing myself, other artists, and the galley, where my primary role is to sell the artwork in the gallery.

This now creates a specific dynamic when people walk into the gallery where when I engage with them, I am doing so in a particular way, within the context that I am a salesman.

I have noticed that sometimes when people walk in and it looks like they are potential buyers, I start to get nervous and find it more difficult to communicate and interact with them. Other times, when they seem like ‘just admirers’, I am more comfortable and its easier to speak with them.

So today I noticed a familiar experience of anxiety coming up within me in relation to clients walking into the gallery, and so I applied the technique that was laid out in the Eqafe Interview I listened to last night.

First I looked at my initial experience that I was having which was a reactive experience triggering and ‘happening to me’ when someone would walk into the gallery. This anxiety that would come up, I found influenced me within moving to talk and interact with the customers.

So firstly, I wrote down the words that was coming up as the reactions

  • Hopeless
  • Helpless
  • Distant
  • Disconnected
  • Desperate
  • Anxiety

And then next I wrote down the words that I would rather like to live and express in those moments when people walk into the gallery

  • Here
  • Open
  • Simplicity
  • Calm
  • Inner Quiet
  • Anchored
  • Grounded
  • Settled

So as customers walked in and the reactive anxiety experience would come up, I would practice focusing on these other words, the words I wanted to be and express, and so then practiced moving out of the reaction words and into these other words.

Overall it was supportive, and throughout the day, I would pull out the piece of paper I had the words written on and re-visit them.

An observation I made was that having the new words written down, and now a part of my awareness in such moments when I faced this anxiety reaction gave me something else to focus on and direct and move myself and my attention into instead of just having the anxiety experience be the only thing in my awareness.

So I will continue to test out this application and I would recommend for anyone interested in hearing about this particular application to invest in the Source where the best description is given which is the interview on Eqafe.

eqafe.com – Invest in a wide range of Interviews and Support yourself to Self Perfection
Journey To Life Blogs – Read the blogs from those walking the 7 year journey to life.
Self and Living – Practical Living Support To Live to Your Utmost Potential
DIP Lite – Free Online Course to get you started with learning the Tools of Self Support
DIP PRO -A Desteni Course for those Ready to Walk the Journey of a Lifetime

Leave a Reply

